A new connection?

After I posted the other night I watched the video “The Networked Student” by Wendy Drexler. It is great video that makes the whole idea of a connected student and the role of the teacher much clearer and seems to fit with what I had written earlier. I still think we as educators have to learn how to use the new technologies that can enhance learning and pass that knowledge, and the proper use of the technologies on to our students. I think this is a must see for any administrator considering a proposal for networked learning – it may help explain why it is important and the way of the future. (The fact that the savings on textbooks is highlighted may also be a selling feature ๐Ÿ™‚ ).ย  It definitely puts a different perspective on learning and clearly establishes that a teacher is not replaced, just the role of the teacher changes.

2 Responses to “A new connection?”

  1. jeffgreenslade Says:

    Great point Greg, I too think that teachers act as a scaffold to hold the learning group together. In the end, the teacher does need to be empowered with PD days to learn and play with these tools. As excited as I am to learn about all of these tech. tools, I find that time just isn’t there to “want” to incorporate it into my teaching. Having said that, we are only a month into the course and who knows, next year at this time I might have my own wikispace…to only dream ๐Ÿ™‚

    • starkg Says:

      Hold on to that hope Jeff! ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe some of our future PD days will be used for our purposes rather that the school boards… I mean, a guy can dream can’t he?

Leave a comment